DEADBEATS WHO AREN’T LOOKING HARD ENOUGH FOR WORK

May 22, 2013

First post written in The Actual New Blog. Real Productive Use of time from Day Off, instead of trying to find a new job, huh?

HOPEFULLY posting two a day gets me “caught up”. I do not want to have “spare posts” on this blog.

YES, I will most likely change that “Chateau” theme.

On this blog I will get slightly more personal, BUT I WANT TO PROTECT MY IDENTITY. I DON’T WANT YOU TO KNOW WHO I AM. I WILL NEVER TELL MY REAL NAME. THE ANONYMITY IS VERY IMPORTANT TO ME. I could be Any White Male.

Besides if a CIA Task Force were assigned to Deduce My Identity from the details and anecdotes I share, they prob could. But it would take some serious work.

So here’s an anecdote from the other night. I INTEND to keep the OTHER people anonymous out of my respect for them. But you will see how Biographical Details can Un-anonymize you!

Memorable conversation/argument I was privy to.

Group of 4 men, myself included. Argument between A and B.

A: ~26 years old, white, College Educated, Business/Economics Degree from Average Univ, very intellectual, intelligent, Decent Entry-Level Job in-his-field I am jelly of; argumentatitve

B: ~40 years old, white, argumentative, likes Pushing A’s Buttons, Decent job for 15+ years as Civil Servant, opinionated, politically incorrect, intelligent, sorta anti-college, don’t think has degree or wants, doesn’t really need (but a LOT of people don’t NEED degrees!), he’s doing well.

They get into a huge and hilarious argument about Unemployment and Deadbeats and Full Time Jobs. B Sez everyone who wants a full time job can get one, if they weren’t such a LAZY DEADBEAT and took what was available. He knows 15 places that need full time workers. But the Lazy Deadbeat Unemployeds are holding out for their Dream Job, Milking Unemployment, because they think they’re too good to work at such and such a job, or it’s not what they went to Skool for. The high unemployment rate could be drastically reduced if these deadbeats just sucked it up and took one of these jobs that are available.  But they’re MORALLY LAZY LOSERS. Anecdotal evidence. Your facts are f00king bullsh1t. You’re using logical fallacies and making excuses. These Deadbeats are not trying nearly hard enough. This guy could have had 15 jobs by now, oh yeah, he’s LOOKING REAL HARD.

Person A: Employment and Unemployment is a function of Supply and Demand. Labor Markets. Number of Jobs vs Number of People Looking. Factual Evidence. You’re just giving me anecdotal evidence of a couple people you know. You’re full of sh1t, not every one who wants a fulltime job has one. You’re oversimplifying and have logical fallacies and making excuses.

I was equally uncomfortable and amused. uncomfortable because I WAS the Lazy Deadbeat Loser that was Holding Out for a “Halfway Decent” job: Easy, Nonphysical, in an office, health care, 401k, not restaurant, not part time, “typical average” entry-level job 4 NonSTEM College Grad, unwilling to pay my dues hahaha.

Amused because it’s not like these guys are enemies, they just have very different views and pushing each other’s buttons, and it’s very fun to watch. Person B might be exaggerrating his views slightly just to provoke Person A, he admittedly gets a kick out of it. I’ve watched them argue like this before, this one however struck Closer to home than ever before, and that was Harrowing.

I think at the end of the day my own views are closer to Person B, albeit not as extreme as he expressed them that day. Sometimes you SHOULD eat the humble pie and do something Not “In Your Field,” which, unless you’re a STEM Grad, means nothing anyway.

Not sure where the cutoff should be though. Let’s just say any FULLTIME job that’s NOT in a restaurant. Or in Retail. Or Manual Outdoor Backbreaking Labor With Illegals and Multiple Felons. Or this. or that. see how it’s a slippery slope. And you don’t want to have The Dreaded SENSE OF ENTITLEMENT: B-BUT I HAVE A COLLEGE DEGREE! I DESERVE A BETTER JOB THAN PEOPLE WHO DON’T! I DESERVE AN EASY, LOW-STRESS FULLTIME JOB IN AN OFFICE!! AN OFFICE!!

Heh. See how this is a bad attitude. Besides, you gotta have a MASTERS degree if you wanna work in some fancy (or unfancy, heh) OFFICE.

Thankfully nobody asked me why I was such a deadbeat not trying hard enough to get a better job, or asking me about my education and degree. I am VERY tight lipped about my Education and my Job to begin with, and have a bunch of half-truths and deflections I tell about them. Play up my job, Play down my education. Because I am embarrassingly underemployed “for my level of education”, so my not having a better job is Proof Positive that I am a MORALLY LAZY LOSER. A DEADBEAT WHO’S NOT LOOKING HARD ENOUGH, WHO THINKS HE’S ABOVE IT ALL.

Heh. You can see how all this makes Social Situations potentially stressful. But these are all decent people who do not judge me, they did not press me for personal information, even if they did, I could have handled it breddy good. I am grateful these people don’t think I’m a Weird Loser, hahaha.

practicing what I would have said, and what you might say, if you’re POPULAR enough to actually Hang Out With People Sometimes: “Yes, I see where both of you guys are coming from. You both have compelling points. I’m honestly a really traditionally-minded guy and I might be actually closer to B’s point of view than A’s. Though I think B is playing things up a little, and I do think A has great points too.”

And if someone asks you about something you don’t want to talk about, just say, with a Confident Smile, “Sorry, that’s a Sore Subject, I don’t like talking about that much, so all I’ll say for now is that…. bla bla bla.”

